Food · History · Uncategorized

Faggots!

Now I know a lot of people will turn their noses up and think, ‘Brains’! But we love our faggots here. And these faggots, are slightly different, and flippin’ tasty!

Here is the recipe…

Mock Faggots in Onion Gravy

Ingredients:
*450g sausage meat (I bought Free From ones and squeezed out the meat from the      casings)
* 1 x onion, chopped finely
* 1 x leek chopped finely
* Breadcrumbs – match volume, not weight
* Dried Sage – to taste
* Knob lard or fat

Method:
Gently fry the onion and leek in the fat.
Mix sausage meat and breadcrumbs together and then add the onion and leek mixture.
Add the Dried Sage and season to taste.
Mix very well and then form into balls – this should make 12 balls.
Place 4 balls into each foil container and set aside.
Cover with onion gravy, add the lids and bake at about 170C for approx 35 to 40 minutes.
Serve with mashed potatoes and seasonal vegetables.

20170423_171652

Onion Gravy

Ingredients:
1 x onion, chopped
1 x tbsp sugar
1 x tsp malt vinegar
1 x tbsp flour (I used gluten free and it works perfectly)
1 x Pork stock cube in 400 ml boiled water
Knob of lard or fat

Method:
Gently fry the onion in the fat.

Add the sugar and vinegar and cook until the vinegar has evaporated.
Add the flour and cook for a couple of minutes.
Add the stock.
Bring to a boil and then let simmer until the gravy thickens.
Season to taste.

20170423_171648

Pour this over the prepared faggots prior to cooking.

If this looks a little pale, add some browning. It doesn’t alter the taste, only darkens the colour.

One good thing about these being made into the smaller tubs, is you can freeze them once cooked and cooled. That’s what we did. Had one half for dinner and the other half is in the freezer.

I found that the gravy didn’t quite make enough for us (personal taste I guess, but my husband likes a LOT of gravy) and so I did have to cheat and make up some onion gravy from store bought that I had in the cupboard. But, even so, the whole dish was delicious! I think though, next time, instead of doing four balls to a tin, I’d do three. I was SO full afterwards!

20170423_220309

You can get the dishes from just about anywhere. Just look for the foil containers with the card/foil lids. I bought my last lot from Tesco I think. I also found them in one of the various Pound shops too in town.

20170424_121729

Give them a go. They are cheap, filling and very tasty.

Toodle pip!
Hugs!
xXx

Leave a Reply

