Life · Uncategorized

I’m going to do what?!

Well, it’s been a while. I would love to think that I could be one of those people who write a blog every single day and make a difference to people, but I am just not that sort of person. I’ll write in fits and starts, and to be perfectly honest, for myself. There, I said it, I’m selfish. But I was reading my blogs that I follow and watching the vlogs that I subscribe to, and I had an urge to write again. So I am. Just because I want to and because I can!

Normally, I am one of those people who keeps everything to herself. Even my poor husband doesn’t get to know what is going on in my head half the time and to be fair, he is safer that way, hehe! But seriously though, I have always been that way. I give out snippets if I want to, and secretly squirrel away on some new thought or project and then I will tell. Yeah, I am a very closed person. I know that. And those who are close to me and actually know me, know that too. And that is OK.

The other month I blogged about the ideas of these Bucket Lists and it has been playing on my mind since. I know I’ll not get everything done on the list that I created and that is OK too. But there are a few points on there, that I would really like to accomplish.

  • Get a degree at University
  • Write a book
  • Loose some weight
  • Learn Sign Language

These are four just off the top of my head that I could think of this minute. Well, I have begun!

Last week, I joined up with Weight Watchers. I’m doing it on my own online. So we shall see how that goes. So far, Week 1…I put on one pound, hahaha! To be fair, I started this AFTER I had done all the weekly shopping, so had to make do with what I already had. Plus, it was that time of the month. So really, I have just started Week One.

Learn Sign Language, well, that one will come.

But, I have joined up with Open University and signed onto BA (Honours) English Literature and Creative Writing! Holy crap! OK, now I need to confess…I did, in fact, join them last year. But, I got so overwhelmed. I had done research, read blogs and watched vlogs about what it would be like but nothing compared me for what I was taking on!

I checked out what hours were involved and wrote up a timetable for myself. I would study Monday, Wednesday and Friday mornings. Catch up on evenings if I needed to. I got started and was really enjoying myself and was so proud of myself for doing this. But when things got a little tough I soon discovered that I had no support. The responses from people that I was doing this degree was unreal. Why would I waste my time on something that I didn’t need? I’m a stay-at-home mother and housewife! What a waste of time. And it went on. That really did affect me and upset me more than I let on. People who I expected support and a pat on the back…nothing. It got too much and so I caved, and I decided to quit. Thankfully though, my tutor at the time was so great. She got me to change my mind and instead of quitting, to defer and bank my assignments that I had completed just in case. I’m so grateful that I listened to her!

So, yesterday, I signed on to start again. This October, I start again on my degree. This time I am more aware of what I am walking in to and what to expect. I have me, my tutors and my class and I will do this! Well, here is to the next six years of study!

OK, so that is point number one. Degree at University on the way…

Number two then! I’m going to write a book. Yes! Have you ever heard of the event held each year called NaNoWriMo. It’s National Novel Writers Month. Each year in November, thousands upon thousands of people sign up for this challenge to write a novel in one month. Crazy, I know! But the goal is to get to 50,000 words. It’s a huge deal and must be one heck of an achievement. Well, through the year they also run a couple of Camps. These are in April and again in July. One month to write to a specific goal, be it a word count, a number of lines, or time writing. Basically, it is a warm up to the main event I think.

Well, I just joined up to NaNoWriMo and Camp NaNoWriMo. Now, I’m not saying that I am going to go all in and go for the Novembers huge challenge, but I am going to start off with a Camp. Even though this Camp started five days ago, I’m still going to have a go and see what happens. I already have an idea in mind and is something that I have wanted to do for a good number of years.

When my son was born, I wanted him to have some books and stories for kids that were pagan based. There were not that many at all around! 11 years on, there are a few now and more coming on the market all the time. But I have the basic outline of what I wanted to do and where I wanted the stories/book to go, so I am going to see if I can bring that all into being.

So, I’m off to go put the kettle on, swap over the laundry and then set to and start writing a book! How flippin’ exciting! And where normally I wouldn’t have told a soul…I just told all of you! Eeeeek!

I shall let you know how I get on!

Many blessings!
Hugs!
xXx

Leave a Reply

