Life · Uncategorized · writing

Camp NaNoWriMo – Week Two

Well, who would have thought that we are half way through Camp already! I wasn’t sure I would still be here after week one, let alone still going strong in week two. And I couldn’t be happier!

Well, I started Camp with nothing more than a blank page, and a, “What is all this about? Looks fun!” and “I wonder…” And now, I am addicted.

My story originally started life as an idea I had years ago when my youngest son was born. I wanted to write him some pagan stories as there weren’t many at all for children. Sure, you could buy the books on ‘how to’, but nothing really aimed at children stories. So I came up with a basic outline then, and that’s all it ever was really. A couple of years later my daughter was born and the story resurfaced and this time it was rewritten to include her, but again went no further. It was just a simple text document that stayed on my hard drive collecting dust.

As I was starting Camp very, very green, it was the perfect thing to pull out, dust off and relook at. It certainly helped to have that tucked away for a rainy day! I can’t say that I have followed the original story and it has now completely morphed into something different.

The Plan – a set of eight short stories on the eight sabbats of the Pagan Wheel of the Year. The two children would take us through a year with their family and their goings on. So part fiction, part non-fiction. The story is still the two children, and they are in a pagan family, but they are moving into their new neighbourhood in this story instead.

Basically, I’m a grade A waffler and I had read that at Camp (as well as during the main event in November) the goal is to write. Just write. So I did! I waffled on so much though and added in things I hadn’t thought about, that the whole story changed. I’m not sad about it, I love it. I love that my characters have a whole life of their own. They have characters that have grown, thoughts, emotions and it is like their lives are playing out on my screen and it has nothing to do with me. I wanted them to have a Halloween party, but no, they wanted to build a tree house and find the perfect spot for a Fairy Village. Very rude if you ask me, they didn’t even ask first!

So how is my word counts going? I have surprised myself every day that I have written. I haven’t written every day I do admit. But considering I didn’t start until day 4, my word count sits at 6098 – not bad considering I started off with a goal of 1000 words! Then I upped it to 2000. Next, I tried 5000, then 6000 and currently my goal is 7500. I think I shall hit that this weekend quite easily and not sure I will up it again. So I think my plan will be for this next week, is to finish writing this story and then look at starting to edit maybe.

I even joined in my first Write-In this week. I really enjoyed that and can’t wait for next weeks. I did connect to watch last weeks event, but I just lurked…I wasn’t ready to poke my head out from behind my monitor just yet. But no one poked me in the nose for joining in this week, so all is well!

I hope everyone who is joining in with Camp NaNoWriMo this month is having as much fun as I am. I do wonder if it is as much fun when November rolls around and I am trying to hit 50,000 words!

Many blessings!
Hugs!
xXx

Leave a Reply

