writing

Just a few days left…

Just a few days left of Camp NaNoWriMo left for this July and I wonder how everyone did? I know that I finished very early, but that was because of my goal was just a short story at only 7500 words so just a toe dipping really in preparation for the main event in November. And I cannot wait! I have found this whole experience fascinating. Absolutely fascinating. I started this month as a Pantser – loving the lingo! I just opened a new document on Scrivener and just write. I did 10-minute sprints through the day and let it add up. I didn’t write every day either. I came into Camp already a few days in, so hadn’t cleared my calendar or prepared, so I slotted in writing where and when I could. When I finished the story, I gave myself a pat on the back, read it through once again and then shut it down. I’ve not opened it again actually either. I had planned to use the rest of this month to edit and rewrite all the crap parts – I am sure there are many!

I started this month as a Pantser but ending more of a plantser (plotting to start so far but then turning pantser there after – loving the lingo! I just opened a new document on Scrivener and just write. I did 10-minute sprints through the day and let it add up. I didn’t write every day either. I came into Camp already a few days in, so hadn’t cleared my calendar or prepared, so I slotted in writing where and when I could. When I finished the story, I gave myself a pat on the back, read it through once again and then shut it down. I’ve not opened it again actually either. I had planned to use the rest of this month to edit and rewrite all the crap parts – I am sure there are many! But, I decided that as this was my very first, I wanted to keep it as that. I’m going to print it out, pop it in a folder of some kind and then set up on a shelf. This will be my ‘where it all began’.

I’m still writing though! I actually was so surprised, but I am so bitten by this writing bug now. I now have an area just off my kitchen in a little nook with a small desk that my husband put together for me. I have notebooks and inspirational pictures on the wall. I have my tablet all set up there with pens and pencils and my shiny new whiteboards. I am in love with my new space! Now to use it!

My Writing Space
My little writing nook

 

I have made a start on my first novel. I’m writing (actually, I am planning right now) a fantasy story about dragons. Every day I am researching something new, be it for the actual story or learning about the processes involved. This is one mass learning curve but I am loving every single bit of it. I want to know all the details – formatting, processes, everything. I’m like a new sponge fresh out of the packet and dunked in a bath for the first time. One squish and I’m soaking up everything that I can. My hope is, that I can spend this time learning, researching for my book, and then when November comes round, I can hit NaNoWriMo running and keep on running.

Many Blessings!
Hugs!
xXx

2 thoughts on “Just a few days left…

Leave a Reply

